top of page

Invasive Species


This image shows an invasive species strangling a native grass. During my visit to Grand Rapids, I was fortunate to meet Ginny Wanty from the West Michigan Cluster of the Stewardship Network, an all-around inspriational person who is devoted to the West Michigan environment, particularly educating residents and dealing with invasive species which are harmful to the local ecology. She not only took time out of her busy schedule to visit with me about her various projects, she even gave me a personal tour of several sites where invasives are prominent and helped me collect multiple samples. While the invasives are not the subject of the work I am creating for ArtPrize, I am certain that it will find its way into my future work. I am incredibly grateful to Ginny for sharing her time and knowledge with me and helping me get to know this place she calls home. I am particularly fascinated with how beautiful these plants are, despite their harmfulness. It is important to learn how to recognize them so that native plants and sensitive ecosystems can be protected. For more information about invasives in Michigan visit http://www.michiganinvasives.org/ the Michigan Deparment of Natural Resources, or visit your home state's Department of Natural Resources website to educate yourself on invasive species in your area and to learn what you can do to help.


bottom of page